Global Information Lookup Global Information

La Guajira Department information

La Guajira Department
Departamento de La Guajira (Spanish)
Mma'ipakat Wajiira (Wayuu)
Flag of La Guajira Department
Coat of arms of La Guajira Department
Anthem: Himno de La Guajira.
La Guajira shown in red
La Guajira shown in red
Topography of the department
Topography of the department
Coordinates: 11°33′N 72°54′W / 11.550°N 72.900°W / 11.550; -72.900
CountryLa Guajira Department Colombia
RegionCaribbean Region
EstablishedJuly 1, 1965
 • GovernorOneida Rayeth Pinto Perez (2016-2019) (Radical Change)
 • Total20,848 km2 (8,049 sq mi)
 • Rank25th
 • Total880,560
 • Rank20th
 • Density42/km2 (110/sq mi)
 • TotalCOP 22,263 billion
(US$ 5.2 billion)
Time zoneUTC-05
ISO 3166 codeCO-LAG
HDI (2019)0.695[3]
medium · 31st of 33

La Guajira (Spanish pronunciation: [la ɣwaˈxiɾa]) is a department of Colombia. It occupies most of the Guajira Peninsula in the northeast region of the country, on the Caribbean Sea and bordering Venezuela, at the northernmost tip of South America. The capital city of the department is Riohacha.

Various indigenous tribes have populated the arid plains of the region long before the Spanish expeditions reached the Americas. In 1498, Alonso de Ojeda sailed around the peninsula of La Guajira, but the first European to set foot in what is known today as La Guajira was the Spanish explorer Juan de la Cosa in 1499. During the colonial era, the territory of La Guajira was disputed by the governors of Santa Marta and Venezuela, owing to deposits of pearls. English pirates, Frenchmen, and Germans also fought for control of the territory.

Martin Fernandez de Enciso founded Nuestra Señora Santa María de los Remedios del Cabo de la Vela, the first colonial village in the territory. In 1535, Nicolás de Federmán refounded the settlement as the village of Riohacha, as a result of constant attacks by the Wayuu people. In 1544, it was moved to the site of the present-day city. In 1871, the region was separated from the Department of Magdalena, and La Guajira became a national territory in its own right. The Intendance of La Guajira was created in 1898.[4]

In 1911, the Colombian government created the Commissary of la Guajira. In the 1930s, numerous immigrants came to the area from the Middle East (Christian Arabs, Maronites in particular, and Shi'i Muslims) from Lebanon, Syria, Palestine and Jordan. They generally settled in the city of Maicao. In 1954, the Intendance of la Guajira was created again and Riohacha was declared a municipality. Finally, in 1964, the Department of La Guajira was created.[4]

The economy of the department depends on royalties from the coal mining at Cerrejón (producing 24.9 million tons of export coal in 2004), natural gas exploitation, and salt mines. A popular ecotourist destination is Cabo de la Vela, a small fishing village located on the headland of the peninsula in the Guajira desert.

  1. ^ "Censo Nacional de Población y Vivienda 2018". Departamento Administrativo Nacional de Estadística – DANE (in Spanish). Retrieved 25 October 2019.
  2. ^ "Producto Interno Bruto por departamento",
  3. ^ "Sub-national HDI - Area Database - Global Data Lab". Retrieved 2018-09-13.
  4. ^ a b Colombian Air Force: Guajira

and 19 Related for: La Guajira Department information

Request time (Page generated in 0.8155 seconds.)

La Guajira Department

Last Update:

La Guajira (Spanish pronunciation: [la ɣwaˈxiɾa]) is a department of Colombia. It occupies most of the Guajira Peninsula in the northeast region of the...

Word Count : 4345

La Guajira Desert

Last Update:

The La Guajira Desert [la ɣwaˈxiɾa] (Wayuu: Woumainkat Wajiira, Spanish: Desierto de La Guajira) is a desert located in northern Colombia and Venezuela...

Word Count : 236

Guajira Peninsula

Last Update:

The Guajira Peninsula [ɡwaˈxiɾa] (Spanish: Península de La Guajira, also spelled Goajira, mainly in colonial period texts, Wayuu: Woumainpa’a) is a peninsula...

Word Count : 1102

Flag of La Guajira Department

Last Update:

The flag of La Guajira was officially adopted by the Departmental Assembly by means of Ordinance 028 of September 29, 1966. Previously, the flag had already...

Word Count : 197

List of governors of La Guajira Department

Last Update:

of governors of the Department of La Guajira, Colombia: List of Colombian Department Governors (in Spanish) History of La Guajira (in Spanish) Government...

Word Count : 95


Last Update:

Ranchería River and the Caribbean Sea. It is the capital city of the La Guajira Department. It has a sandy beach waterfront. Founded by conquistador Nikolaus...

Word Count : 1182


Last Update:

northeastern Colombia La Guajira Department, a department of Colombia which includes most of the Guajira Peninsula La Guajira Desert, a desert which...

Word Count : 157

List of Colombian department governors

Last Update:

Chocó Department (List) Governor of Córdoba (List) Governor of Cundinamarca Department (List) Mayor of Bogotá (List) Governor of La Guajira Department (List)...

Word Count : 236

La Guajira Cartel

Last Update:

La Guajira Cartel (Spanish: Cartel de La Guajira) refers to a criminal organization originating from Maicao that operates in the Guajira Peninsula on the...

Word Count : 614

Coat of arms of La Guajira Department

Last Update:

The coat of arms of the La Guajira was officially adopted by the Departmental Assembly Ordinance 028 of November 29, 1966 after the winning design of...

Word Count : 225

Municipalities of Colombia

Last Update:

subdivisions of the Republic of Colombia. Municipalities make up most of the departments of Colombia with 1,122 municipalities (municipios). Each one of them...

Word Count : 1950

Gulf of Venezuela

Last Update:

Venezuelan states of Zulia and Falcón and by La Guajira Department, Colombia. The western side is formed by the Guajira Peninsula. A 54 km (34 mi) strait connects...

Word Count : 247

Punta Gallinas

Last Update:

headland in northern Colombia. Located in Uribia Municipality, La Guajira Department, it is the northernmost point on the mainland of South America,...

Word Count : 208

Sierra Nevada de Santa Marta

Last Update:

serves as the source of 36 rivers. The range is in the Departments of Magdalena, Cesar and La Guajira. The highest point of the Sierra Nevada group (and Colombia...

Word Count : 1666


Last Update:

municipality in the Department of La Guajira, northern Republic of Colombia. It is located 76 km from Riohacha, the capital of the department and is the second...

Word Count : 2057

Cabo de la Vela

Last Update:

Cabo de la Vela (Spanish for "cape of sail") is a headland in the Guajira Peninsula in Colombia with an adjacent small fishing village. It is a popular...

Word Count : 434

2010 Colombian rainy season

Last Update:

homes completely destroyed and 334 in very bad conditions. The department of Guajira being located in the northern tip of Colombia was seriously affected...

Word Count : 1526

List of festivals in Colombia

Last Update:

Culture in La Guajira Department. Festivities of Our Lady of the Remedies in La Guajira Department. Green Moon Festival (Spanish: Festival de la Luna Verde)...

Word Count : 1391

La Guajira Terrane

Last Update:

La Guajira Terrane (Spanish: Terreno de La Guajira, TLG) is one of the geological provinces (terranes) of Colombia. The terrane, dating to the Late Cretaceous...

Word Count : 866

PDF Search Engine ©