Global Information Lookup Global Information

Lower Saxony information

Lower Saxony
Niedersachsen (German)
Neddersassen (Low German)
Läichsaksen (Saterland Frisian)
Flag of Lower Saxony
Coat of arms of Lower Saxony
Coordinates: 52°45′22″N 9°23′35″E / 52.75611°N 9.39306°E / 52.75611; 9.39306
 • BodyLandtag of Lower Saxony
 • Minister-PresidentStephan Weil (SPD)
 • Governing partiesSPD / Greens
 • Bundesrat votes6 (of 69)
 • Bundestag seats73 (of 736)
 • Total47,614.07 km2 (18,383.90 sq mi)
 • Total8,003,421
 • Density170/km2 (440/sq mi)
 • Total€339.414 billion (2022)
 • Per capita€41,826 (2022)
Time zoneUTC+1 (CET)
 • Summer (DST)UTC+2 (CEST)
ISO 3166 codeDE-NI
NUTS RegionDE9
HDI (2019)0.935[3]
very high · 11th of 16
Map of Lower Saxony

Lower Saxony[a] is a German state (Land) in northwestern Germany. It is the second-largest state by land area, with 47,614 km2 (18,384 sq mi), and fourth-largest in population (8 million in 2021) among the 16 Länder federated as the Federal Republic of Germany. In rural areas, Northern Low Saxon and Saterland Frisian are still spoken, albeit in declining numbers.

Lower Saxony borders on (from north and clockwise) the North Sea, the states of Schleswig-Holstein, Hamburg, Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, Brandenburg, Saxony-Anhalt, Thuringia, Hesse and North Rhine-Westphalia, and the Netherlands. Furthermore, the state of Bremen forms two enclaves within Lower Saxony, one being the city of Bremen, the other its seaport, Bremerhaven (which is a semi-enclave, as it has a coastline). Lower Saxony thus borders more neighbours than any other single Bundesland. The state's largest cities are state capital Hanover, Braunschweig (Brunswick), Lüneburg, Osnabrück, Oldenburg, Hildesheim, Salzgitter, Wolfsburg, and Göttingen.

Lower Saxony is the only Bundesland that encompasses both maritime and mountainous areas. The northwestern area of the state, on the coast of the North Sea, is called East Frisia and the seven East Frisian Islands offshore are popular with tourists. In the extreme west of Lower Saxony is the Emsland, an economically emerging but rather sparsely populated area, once dominated by inaccessible swamps. The northern half of Lower Saxony, also known as the North German Plain, is almost invariably flat except for the gentle hills around the Bremen geestland. Towards the south and southwest lie the northern parts of the Central Uplands: the Weser Uplands and the Harz Mountains. Between these two lie the Lower Saxon Hills, a range of low ridges.

Lower Saxony's major cities and economic centres are mainly situated in its central and southern parts, namely Hanover, Braunschweig, Osnabrück, Wolfsburg, Salzgitter, Hildesheim, and Göttingen. Oldenburg, near the northwestern coastline, is another economic centre. The region in the northeast, the Lüneburg Heath (Lüneburger Heide), is the largest heathland area of Germany. In the Middle Ages, it was wealthy due to salt-mining and the salt trade, as well as, to a lesser degree, the exploitation of its peat bogs, which went on until the 1960s. To the north the Elbe River separates Lower Saxony from Hamburg, Schleswig-Holstein, Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, and Brandenburg. The banks just south of the Elbe are known as the Altes Land (Old Country). Due to its gentle local climate and fertile soil, it is the state's largest area of fruit farming, its chief produce being apples.

Most of the state's territory was part of the historic Kingdom of Hanover, and the state of Lower Saxony has adopted the coat of arms and other symbols of the former kingdom. It was created by the merger of the State of Hanover with three smaller states on 1 November 1946.

  1. ^ "Landesamt für Statistik Niedersachsen".
  2. ^ "Bruttoinlandsprodukt, Bruttowertschöpfung |". Statistische Ämter des Bundes und der Länder | Gemeinsames Statistikportal (in German). Retrieved 31 July 2023.
  3. ^ "Sub-national HDI – Area Database – Global Data Lab". Retrieved 6 May 2022.

Cite error: There are <ref group=lower-alpha> tags or {{efn}} templates on this page, but the references will not show without a {{reflist|group=lower-alpha}} template or {{notelist}} template (see the help page).

and 17 Related for: Lower Saxony information

Request time (Page generated in 0.8267 seconds.)

Lower Saxony

Last Update:

Lower Saxony is a German state (Land) in northwestern Germany. It is the second-largest state by land area, with 47,614 km2 (18,384 sq mi), and fourth-largest...

Word Count : 6497


Last Update:

Saxony, officially the Free State of Saxony, is a landlocked state of Germany, bordering the states of Brandenburg, Saxony-Anhalt, Thuringia, Bavaria,...

Word Count : 6293

Lower Saxony derby

Last Update:

The Lower Saxony derby (German: Niedersachsenderby [ˈniːdɐzaksn̩ˌdɛrbi, -ˌdœːɐ̯bi]) usually refers to a match between the two Lower Saxonian association...

Word Count : 1066

Landtag of Lower Saxony

Last Update:

The Lower Saxon Landtag (Niedersächsischer Landtag) or the Parliament of Lower Saxony is the state diet of the German state of Lower Saxony. It convenes...

Word Count : 323

Flag of Lower Saxony

Last Update:

The flag of Lower Saxony consists of the flag of the Federal Republic of Germany in Schwarz-Rot-Gold, with the coat of arms of Lower Saxony, shifted slightly...

Word Count : 229

States of Germany

Last Update:

1952), Bavaria (in German: Bayern), Bremen, Hamburg, Hesse (Hessen), Lower Saxony (Niedersachsen), North Rhine-Westphalia (Nordrhein-Westfalen), Rhineland-Palatinate...

Word Count : 6144

Lower Saxony State Party

Last Update:

The Lower Saxony State Party (Niedersächsische Landespartei, NLP) was a short lived regionalist political party in Germany. It was founded in 1945 as a...

Word Count : 117

Old Saxony

Last Update:

Old Saxony was the homeland of the Saxons during the Early Middle Ages. It corresponds roughly to the modern German states of Lower Saxony, eastern part...

Word Count : 1534

Day of Lower Saxony

Last Update:

The Day of Lower Saxony (German: Tag der Niedersachsen or TdN) is a three-day, cultural state festival in the German state of Lower Saxony, which has...

Word Count : 212

List of places in Lower Saxony

Last Update:

This is a list of geographical features in the state of Lower Saxony, Germany. Harz Weserbergland Aller Bode Elbe Ems Fulda Hunte Innerste Leine Neetze...

Word Count : 68

List of cities in Lower Saxony by population

Last Update:

following list sorts all cities and communes in the German state of Lower Saxony with a population of more than 25,000. As of December 31, 2017, 63 cities...

Word Count : 265

List of cities and towns in Germany

Last Update:

Rhine-Westphalia: 272 cities and towns Hesse: 191 cities and towns Saxony: 169 cities and towns Lower Saxony: 159 cities and towns Rhineland-Palatinate: 130 cities...

Word Count : 356

German football league system

Last Update:

regional association league system in the states of Bremen, Hamburg, Lower Saxony and Schleswig-Holstein and starts at level four of the German league...

Word Count : 5294

Elections in Germany

Last Update:

1998 Lower Saxony state election 2003 Lower Saxony state election 2008 Lower Saxony state election 2013 Lower Saxony state election 2017 Lower Saxony state...

Word Count : 2559

Duchy of Saxony

Last Update:

Northern Germany, including the modern German states (Länder) of Lower Saxony and Saxony-Anhalt up to the Elbe and Saale rivers in the east, the city-states...

Word Count : 3115

Coat of arms of Lower Saxony

Last Update:

federal-state of Lower Saxony shows a white Saxon Steed (German: Sachsenross) on a red background. It is used on the flag of Lower Saxony. According to German...

Word Count : 770

South Lower Saxony

Last Update:

South Lower Saxony (German: Südniedersachsen) refers to the southern part of the German federal state of Lower Saxony. The region so described is neither...

Word Count : 339

PDF Search Engine ©