Global Information Lookup Global Information

Antioquia Department information

Department of Antioquia
Departamento de Antioquia
Flag of Department of Antioquia
Coat of arms of Department of Antioquia
Liberty and Valour
(Spanish: Libertad y Valor)
Anthem: Himno de Antioquia
Himno Antioqueño: ¡Oh libertad!
Antioquia shown in red
Antioquia shown in red
Topography of the department
Topography of the department
Coordinates: 6°13′N 75°34′W / 6.217°N 75.567°W / 6.217; -75.567
CountryAntioquia Department Colombia
RegionAndean Region
Established as a province1576
Established as a republic1813
Established as a department1886
 • GovernorAndrés Julián Rendon
 • Total63,612 km2 (24,561 sq mi)
 • Rank6th
 • Total6,994,792
 • Rank2nd
 • Density110/km2 (280/sq mi)
 • Demonym
Antioqueño -a
 • TotalCOP 212,515 billion
(US$ 49.9 billion)
Time zoneUTC-05
ISO 3166 codeCO-ANT
HDI (2019)0.809 [5]
high · 1st of 33

Antioquia (Spanish pronunciation: [anˈtjokja] ) is one of the 32 departments of Colombia, located in the central northwestern part of Colombia with a narrow section that borders the Caribbean Sea. Most of its territory is mountainous with some valleys, much of which is part of the Andes mountain range. Antioquia has been part of many territorial divisions of former countries created within the present-day territory of Colombia. Prior to adoption of the Colombian Constitution of 1886, Antioquia State had its own sovereign government.

The department covers an area of 63,612 km2 (24,561 sq mi), and has a population of 5,819,358 (2006 estimate); 6.6 million (2010 estimate). Antioquia borders the Córdoba Department and the Caribbean Sea to the north; Chocó to the west; the departments of Bolivar, Santander, and Boyaca to the east; and the departments of Caldas and Risaralda to the south.

Medellín is Antioquia's capital city, and the second-largest city in the country. Other important towns are Santa Fe de Antioquia, the old capital located on the Cauca River, and Puerto Berrío on the Magdalena.

  1. ^ "Government of Antioquia". Gobernación de Antioquia, República de Colombia. Archived from the original on 16 November 2011. Retrieved 22 February 2013.
  2. ^ Kline, Harvey F. (2012). "Antioquia, Department of". Historical Dictionary of Colombia. Lanham, Maryland: Scarecrow Press. p. 45. ISBN 978-0-8108-7813-6.
  3. ^ "DANE". Archived from the original on 13 November 2009. Retrieved 13 February 2013.
  4. ^ "Producto Interno Bruto por departamento",
  5. ^ "Sub-national HDI - Area Database - Global Data Lab". Retrieved 13 September 2018.

and 10 Related for: Antioquia Department information

Request time (Page generated in 0.8307 seconds.)

Antioquia Department

Last Update:

Antioquia (Spanish pronunciation: [anˈtjokja] ) is one of the 32 departments of Colombia, located in the central northwestern part of Colombia with a narrow...

Word Count : 2304


Last Update:

Antioquia is the Spanish form of Antioch. Antioquia may also refer to: Antioquia Department, Colombia Antioquia State, Colombia (defunct) Antioquia District...

Word Count : 62

Flag of Antioquia Department

Last Update:

of the Department of Antioquia is the flag symbol of the Colombian Department of Antioquia. The flag originated in the University of Antioquia but it...

Word Count : 93

Departments of Colombia

Last Update:

Colombia into departments, with the state presidents renamed as governors. The states formed the following original departments: Antioquia Department Bolívar...

Word Count : 1056


Last Update:

[rioˈneɣɾo]) is a city and municipality in Antioquia Department, Colombia, located in the subregion of Eastern Antioquia. The official name of the city is Ciudad...

Word Count : 1750

Puerto Triunfo

Last Update:

Triunfo is a town and municipality in Antioquia Department, Colombia. It is part of the Magdalena Medio Antioquia sub-region. Near this town is located...

Word Count : 75

History of the Department of Antioquia

Last Update:

The History of the Department of Antioquia began with the arrival of the first human settlers into what is now the Antioquia Department in Colombia. These...

Word Count : 663


Last Update:

a city and municipality due South of Medellín, Colombia in the department of Antioquia. It is located in the Metropolitan Area of the Aburrá Valley. It...

Word Count : 739

Municipalities of Colombia

Last Update:

Pedro San Pedro de Urabá San Rafael San Roque Santa Bárbara Santa Fe de Antioquia Santa Rosa de Osos Santo Domingo El Santuario San Vicente Segovia Sonsón...

Word Count : 1950

Bajo Cauca Antioquia

Last Update:

Bajo Cauca Antioquia is a subregion in the Colombian Department of Antioquia. The region is made up by 6 municipalities. The region cover most of the...

Word Count : 53

PDF Search Engine ©